Department of Physics - About

About Us Faculty Courses Facility Fees Syllabus

The Department of Physics of Bharathiar University traces its root as a post-graduate centre of University of Madras started in 1974 and became the Department of Physics of Bharathiar University in 1982. Over the years, the department has become one of the best centres for quality higher learning offered at the level of post-graduate and research programs.

The competence of the department over the years has been recognized by the Central and State Governments. As a hallmark, UGC has recognized the department as a “Centre with Potential for Excellence in Particular Area (CPEPA)”and sanctioned Rs. 3.6 Crores to establish research facilities in order to carryout specialized research on “Solar Energy Materials and Devices”. Likewise, Government of Tamil Nadu has accredited this department as the “Centre of Excellence” for PG and research programs with a financial support of Rs. 2.5 Crores, to establish the state of the art infrastructure facilities and advanced research laboratories on par with international standards.

At National level, Government of India opulently supports the department through the schemes like DST-FIST (Level-0&1) with funding at the tune of Rs. 3.5 Crores, and DST-PURSE program (Phase-I & II), both pertaining to the Department of Science and Technology, Govt. of India. Furthermore, University Grants Commission has accredited the department under the Special Assistance Program (SAP. DRS- I & II) and sanctioned Rs. 1.5 Crores. Apart from these major funding’s, Faculty members operate major research projects from various funding agencies like, UGC, CSIR, DST, DRDO, BRNS, BRFST and international agencies.

The Faculty members of the department carry out research in many frontier areas, which includes experimental condensed matter physics, theoretical and computational physics. Faculty members and students of the department have been recognized by National/International institutions in terms of awards/fellowships.

Contact Us

Professor & Head,
Department of Physics,
Bharathiar University,
Coimbatore – 641 046.