Skip to main content
A- A A+    
Powered by Google TranslateTranslate
BU search
Department of Educational Technology Lab
Department of Educational Technology Banner 2
Department of Educational Technology Seminar Hall
Department of Education Technology Bharathiar University
Department of Education Technology Bharathiar University
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

Department of Educational Technology


The Department of Educational Technology was established in September 1990 as an interdisciplinary department to offer post graduate and research programmes in the field of education, and educational communication. The department conducts PG, M.Phil and Ph.D programme in educational technology (interdisciplinary) from the academic year 1991-92.The approach is interdisciplinary and curriculum is designed to integrate the talents of students with their personal visions and aspirations. The chief aim is to enhance student’s understanding of important concepts, theories, models and current events in education and technology. The faculty members and scholars have published over 300 research articles in the area of media research, computer based education, technology in education and distance education.

Salient Features
  • The UGC granted the department Rs. 38 lakhs and 2 lecturers to conduct the M.A Educational Communication (UGC Innovative Scheme). 
  • The faculty members have received grant for research projects from UGC, NCERT, NUEPA, ICSSR, PMMMNMT, RGNIYD and RUSA.
  • Online courses offered by Indian Institute of Remote Sensing, Dehradun is coordinated in the department.
  • University Learning Management System is managed from the department.
Thrust Areas
  • E-Learning
  • Instructional Designing and Development
  • E-Content Writing
  • Web Development
  • Learning Management System
  • Dr. A.R. Bhavana received Best Faculty Award from The Nehru College of Educational and Charitable Trust, Coimbatore during 2010-2011.
  • Dr. A.R. Bhavana received Best Paper Award from Department of Education, Bharathidasan University during 2011.
  • Dr. M. Parthasarathy received Best Coordinator Award from Indian Institute of Remote Sensing (IIRS-ISRO) on 26.02.2018
  • Dr. S. Thangarajathi received Best Women Faculty Award for the academic excellence in Education and Educational Technology by Nature Science Foundation during March 2019.
  • Dr. S. Thangarajathi received Outstanding Women in Humanities and Social Sciences- for the contribution and the achievement in the field of Education, from Venus International Foundation, Chennai, on 02.03.2019.
  • Ms. M. Mehar Taj (Student) received Youth Award from Vivekananda Youth Award Committee, Bharathiar University during 2016.
  • Ms. R. Abinaya (Student) received Best Student Award from KamarajarArakatalai, Bharathiar University during 2017.
Roll of Honour
  • Dr.R.Ananthasayanam, Reader and Head (Sep 1990 – Apr-1997),Professor and Head (Apr 1997 – Jun 2006)
  • Dr.N.Balasubramanian, Professor and Head (Jul-2006 – Mar-2007)
  • Dr.R.Ananthasayanam, Professor and Head (Apr-2007 – Jun 2013)
  • Dr.N.Balasubramanian, Professor and Head i/c (Jul 2013- Jun-2014)
  • Dr.P.Thirumalvalavan, Professor and Head i/c (Jul 2014-Jun 2015)
  • Dr.G.Singaravelu, Professor and Head i/c (Jul 2015- Dec 2019)
  • Dr.A.R.Bhavana, Professor and Head i/c (Dec 2019 -Till Date)