Skip to main content
A- A A+    
Powered by Google TranslateTranslate
BU search
Department of Applied Mathematics Banner 1
Department of Applied Mathematics Bharathiar University
Department of Applied Mathematics Bharathiar University
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Department of Applied Mathematics


The Department of Applied Mathematics was started as a department in Bharathiar University during June 2008 under the headship of Professor Dr.S.P.Anjalidevi with four guest lecturers.

Salient Features

The main goal of the department is to provide quality education in applied mathematics and encourage high level research among faculty and students. On the aspects of teaching, learning and research, the department provides a conducive atmosphere for the student learning. The curriculum is upgraded from time to time to suit the changing trends in industry and society.

Research activities in the department have covered the various fields in mathematics/applied mathematics. The department aims to carry out research of world class excellence in important areas of mathematics and applied mathematics, take up more sponsored research projects and to advance academic and industrial collaborations both nationally and internationally. 

The department is strong in many areas of research, particularly differential equations, control theory, fluid dynamics, fuzzy sets and systems, probability theory and stochastic processes. Extensive research is progressing in the fields of fractional differential equations, stochastic differential equations, computational fluid dynamics, boundary layer theory, complex dynamical networks, large deviation theory and numerical techniques for partial differential equations. 

Thrust Areas
  • Differential equations,
  • Control theory, 
  • Fluid dynamics, 
  • Fuzzy sets and systems, 
  • Probability theory 
  • Stochastic processes.
  • 2008 – Department was established
  • 2010- New building 
  • 2011-Computer Lab was established
Roll of Honour

Prof Dr. R. Vijayaraghavan (2016–2017)

Prof Dr. K. Balachandran (2015-2016)

Prof Dr.S.P. Anjalidevi (2008-2015)